Network switching subsystem (NSS) (or GSM core network) is the component of a GSM system that carries out call switching and mobility management functions for mobile phones roaming on the network of base stations.

The NSS originally consisted of the circuit-switched core network, used for traditional GSM services such as voice calls, SMS, and circuit switched data calls. It was extended with overlay architecture to provide packet-switched data services known as the GPRS core network. This allows mobile phones to have access to services such as WAP, MMS, and the Internet.

Areas of activity
  • Signaling Transfer Point (STP) – The STP is a router that relays SS7 messages between signaling end-points (SEPs) and other signaling transfer points (STPs). HP OpenCall IP-STG is a server-based commercial, off-the-shelf Signaling Gateway, running on standard OS (Linux). It provides ability to bridge the IP SIGTRAN network and SS7 network, translates signaling information exchanged by the services on both sides, manages network and protocol complexity, rich feature set such as intelligent routing capabilities, provides the physical termination of the SS7 links, routing of SS7 and IP messages, and network management of SS7 and IP nodes.
  • Home Location Register (HLR)/ Authentication Center (AuC) – The HLR is a database used for storage and management of subscriptions. The HLR is considered the most important database, as it stores permanent data about subscribers, including a subscriber’s service profile, location information, and activity status. The Authentication Center is a protected database that stores a copy of the secret key stored in each subscriber’s SIM card, which is used for authentication and ciphering of the radio channel. HP OpenCall HLR/AuC is a proven World-class HLR solution that features industry-leading performance and reliability. The HP OpenCall HLR/AuC is implemented as One Logical HLR Database across multiple physical platforms deployed in different physical locations such that geographic redundancy is obtained. From a network and provisioning viewpoint, the Single Logical HLR database has many benefits in terms of provisioning and network routing which will be dramatically simplified, as there won’t longer be any requirement for deterministic access of subscriber data: All subscribers will be inside one database with 100% data integrity under all circumstances.
  • Equipment Identity Register (EIR) – The EIR is a database that contains a list of all valid mobile equipment on the network, where its International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) identifies each MS. An IMEI is marked as invalid if it has been reported stolen or is not type approved. The EIR functionality is implemented by HP OpenCall EIR which is co-located with HP OpenCall HLR solution. HP OpenCall EIR also implements the function ADD (Automatic Device Detection), which allows real-time tracking of change phone number, and send appropriate notification to the platform DMS. Device Management solution for EIR can maintain white/black/grey lists of IMEIs as well as various other functions like: load/extract of data in different formats, automatic events notification, extended CheckIMEI message support, clone IMEIs detection etc.
  • Home Subscriber Server (HSS) – The HSS is a database used for storage and management of subscriptions in IMS/EPS networks. It replaces HLR/AuC/EIR functionality which was applied to GSM networks. HP OpenCall HSS provides functionalities per latest 3GPP standards.

In addition to NSS components Delta Solutions provides SMS Anti-SPAM system which allows operators to control SMS and avoid various SMS related attacks like spam, fishing, spoofing etc.

Подсистема Сети и Коммутации (Network Switching Subsystem) это компонент сети GSM, используемой для обычных GSM-сервисов, таких как голосовые звонки, SMS и передача данных по коммутируемым линиям.

Для обеспечения сервисов пакетной передачи существует также расширение GSM Core, известное как GPRS Core Network. Это позволяет мобильным телефонам получать доступ к таким сервисам, как WAP, MMS, Internet и передача видео.

Направления деятельности
  • Signaling Transfer Point (STP) (Сигнальный маршрутизатор) — STP является сигнальным маршрутизатором, который передает SS7 сообщения между сигнальными точками и другими сигнальными маршрутизаторами. HP OpenCall IP-STG представляет собой STP/SG (Signaling Transfer Point/Signaling Gateway), основанный на серверном коммерческом оборудовании и стандартной операционной системе Linux. Он предоставляет возможность для объединения сетей IP SIGTRAN и SS7-сетей, осуществляет конвертацию сигнальной информации из одной сети в другую, позволяет конфигурировать и управлять сетевыми протоколами указанных стеков. HP OpenCall IP-STG имеет богатый набор функциональностей таких, как интеллектуальная маршрутизация, возможность физического подключения SS7 звеньев сигнализации, маршрутизации SS7 и IP сообщений и сетевого управления SS7 и IP узлами
  • Home Location Register (HLR)/ Authentication Center (AuC) (Регистр местоположения абонентов и центр аутентификации) — HLR это база данных, которая служит для хранения и управления абонентскими профилями. HLR является важным узлом сетей GSM, т.к. хранит данные о профиле абонента, его услугах, информацию о местоположении и т.п. Центр аутентификации это защищенная база данных, которая хранит копию секретных ключей SIM карт, используемых для аутентификации и шифрования радио части. HP OpenCall HLR/AuC является проверенным решением мирового класса, которое предлагает лидирующие показатели производительности и надежности. HP OpenCall HLR/AuC реализован в виде единой логической базы данных на нескольких физических платформах, которые развернуты в различных местах, что обеспечивает географическое резервирование. Решение HP OpenCall HLR/AuC имеет множество преимуществ с точки зрения управления данными и маршрутизации в сети. Все профили абонента хранятся в единой базе данных, обеспечивающую 100% целостность
  • Equipment Identity Register (EIR) (Регистр оборудования) — EIR это база данных, которая содержит информацию обо всем мобильном оборудовании в сети. Каждое оборудование имеет свой уникальный номер – IMEI. IMEI может быть помечен как недействительный (попасть в «черный» список) в случае, если абонент заявил о пропаже или краже. Функциональность EIR реализуется продуктом HP OpenCall EIR, который включен в решение HP OpenCall HLR. HP OpenCall EIR также включает в себя функциональность автоматического обнаружения устройств, которая позволяет в реальном времени уведомлять платформы управления устройствами об изменении абонентам номера/оборудования. Решение управления устройствами для EIR может вести черные/серые/белые списки оборудования, а также осуществлять многие другие функции, такие как: загрузка/выгрузка данных об IMEI в различных форматах, автоматическое извещение о событиях, поддержка расширенных сообщений CheckIMEI, обнаружение клонированных IMEI и т.д.
  • Home Subscriber Server (HSS) (Домашний сервер абонента) — HSS является базой данных для хранения и управления абонентскими профилями в сетях IMS/EPS. Он заменяет функциональность HLR/AuC/EIR/, которая применялась в сетях GSM. HP OpenCall HSS предлагает полную функциональность HSS в соответствии с последними стандартами 3GPP.

В дополнение к основным компонентам сети GSM компания Дельта Солюшнс предлагает систему SMS Anti-SPAM, которая позволяет оператору контролировать SMS сообщения в сети и избегать различного рода SMS атаки, такие как спуфинг, спам, фишинг и т.п.