ОAAA is an acronym of Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting. As a core component of the network, the AAA Server performs the user authentication, authorization, and accounting function. In some special scenario, it also provides the maintenance management, proxy and session information query functions.

The main features of the AAA Server are as follows:

  • All Network and Multi-Services – The AAA Server supports various networks such as narrowband, broadband, WCDMA/GRPS, CDMA450/1X/2000/EV-DO, WiMAX simultaneously. The ability of the AAA Server to simultaneously support various networks and services allows carriers with multiple licenses to save investments and operating costs. Carriers can build only one AAA system to implement authentication, authorization and accounting for all the data users on their fixed and mobile network, achieving centralized user management and unified service provision.
  • Carrier Grade and High Capacity – The AAA Server adopts two-node backup for the critical hardware and it adopts the load sharing and balancing mechanism, thereby eliminating single point failures. Meanwhile, the AAA Server comes with a traffic control and overload protection mechanism, enabling it to implement smooth capacity expansion for millions of users capacity.
Supported standards

The AAA Server complies with the following standards:

  • IETF standards:
    • RADIUS – RFC2865
    • RADIUS Accounting – RFC2866
    • RADIUS Extensions – RFC2869
    • RADIUS Attributes Tunnelling Protocol Support – RFC 2868
    • RADIUS Accounting Modifications for Tunnel Protocol Support – RFC2867
    • RADIUS Authentication Server MIB – RFC2619, RFC2620
    • RADIUS Accounting Server MIB – RFC2621, RFC2622
    • RADIUS Dynamic Authorization Support – RFC3576
    • RADIUS EAP Support – RFC 3579
    • EAP-AKA – RFC4187
    • EAP-TLS – RFC 2716
    • EAP-TTLS
    • Microsoft Vendor Specific Radius Attributes – RFC 2548
    • HTTP Digest Authentication Support – RFC 2617
    • RADIUS Extension for Digest Authentication – RFC 5090
    • Diameter Base Protocol Support – RFC3588
    • Diameter EAP Extension Support – RFC4072
    • Diameter NASReq Extension Support – RFC4005
    • Diameter MIPv4 Extension Support – RFC4004
    • Diameter Credit-Control Application– RFC4006
  • TIA / EIA standards:
    • IS835 CDMA2000 extensions (Mobile IP)
    • IS878 CDMA2000 RAN 1xEV-DO A12 Support
  • 3GPP2
    • X.S0011-D v1.0 CDMA2000 Wireless IP Network Standard
    • X.S0028-100-0 Wireless Local Area Network Interworking
    • X.S.R0087-A v1.0 CDMA 2000 WLAN Interworking
  • 3GPP / ETSI
    • TS 29.061 GPRS – PLMN Inter-working
    • TS 23.234 WLAN Interworking – System Description

Functional Description

Configurable Authentication

The AAA server supports authentication based on single and/or multiple attributes (fully configurable) such as IMSI, MSISDN, IMEI, NAI, Realm/Domain, user name/login …

Combinations of these parameters are configured into the Policy engine that defines the static rules that will be applied for instance when authenticating.

AThe AAA Server supports multiple Authentication policies that can be configured in the Policy Engine.

Ordered list of policy rules is defined for Policy engine. Each rule consists of one condition and one action.

  • The condition specifies an attribute-value pair that must appear in the access or accounting message. Decisions can be made based on any attribute value pair for maximum flexibility.
  • The action, with one or more action-modifiers, specifies what the AAA Server should do with the request if the condition is met. The action can also reference another policy file to define complex policy rules with embedded conditions.
Authentication methods

The AAA Server supports CHAP, PAP, MSCHAPv1/v2, EAP (EAP-MD5), Microsoft PEAP, EAP-MSCHAP-v2 for PEAP, EAP-AKA, EAP-SIM, and EAP-TLS.

The AAA Server supports ‘Black List’ function. If during authentication a user enters wrong password, after a certain amount of failed attempts the AAA Server is able to block the user. After a specified amount of time the AAA Server does not authenticate the user even if the correct password was provided. This functional, allowed number of authentication attempts and duration of account lockout is fully configurable.

The ‘Black List’ functional is configurable by APN, realm\domain, NAS…

Integration with IN and Billing systems (prepaid and postpaid)

AThe AAA Server supports the following protocols for online charging:

  • DIAMETER DCCA
  • SOAP (OSA/Parlay)

The AAA Server supports generation, download and storage of CDR records for all the events and logs for all the events subject to charging.

CDR format and content are fully customizable. For example: CSV, ASN.1, XML, etc

AThe AAA server supports the following Billing Collection Interfaces: FTP, SFTP, FTPS, ssh, XML over HTTP(S), 3GPP API Charging Subset. Additional interfaces could be developed according to Customer’s requirements.

SPR

The AAA Server has a RDBMS as a part of Solution. This database is used as:

  • Subscriber ‘s profile database
  • Usage database
  • Database of active subscriber’s sessions

Subscriber Database contains user’s profiles. The AAA Server has provisioning interface (SOAP) with BSS\OSS to enable management of the subscriber’s profiles. Additional interfaces could be configured/developed according to customer’s needs. The Database, the list of parameters and their values is configurable according to customer’s requirements. The AAA Server could be integrated with external database repository over standard LDAP (v3) protocol.

The Usage Database provides centralized repository for information about subscriber’s system usage. This usage data is based on accounting records for every user session, including sessions for which it proxies accounting messages to a proxy target server.

Database of active subscriber’s sessions
After a user goes online, the AAA Server will store the user session information in database, such as: MSISDN, IP address, IMSI, etc. The external systems (such as Call Center, etc) can query the information from the AAA Server through the HTTP interface based on the IP address, MSISDN, IMSI and IMEI or any other ID. The Database, the list of parameters and their values is configurable according to customer’s requirements.

Proxy

The AAA Server includes an intelligent, load balancing, high-performance engine. It supports fault detection and recovery as well as sophisticated attribute manipulation features that ensure efficient message flow.

The AAA Server can define separate target servers for authentication and accounting. Communication between the RADIUS Servers is secure, as defined in RFC 2865. A shared secret can be used to provide data authentication and encryption. Policy rules (supported by the Policy Engine) specify when the AAA Server should proxy access or accounting requests to another server. The proxy condition can be based on any attribute value in the access or accounting message, such as domain, called number NAS, or even on different criteria such as APNs, subscriber id …

Proxy target groups can be configured with fail-over and load-sharing policies. Proxy target fail-over ensures high-availability authentication through ordered lists of alternative proxy targets, when a proxy target is unreachable or is not responding reliably. If the first target server in the group fails to respond within a defined time, the AAA Server forwards the access or accounting request to the second server listed. If no response is received from any of the servers in the group, the policy rule can be configured to reject the access request or to accept the request and authorize the user locally.

Proxy target load-sharing allows the AAA Server to distribute authentication and accounting requests on a round-robin basis across a group of target servers. The ability to apply policies on a per-proxy target or a per-proxy target group basis allows the tailoring of service level agreements to meet individual customer requirements.

Before proxying message to EXT AAA, AAA Server could modify (add, delete, modify) Radius attributes in the request. For example if combination of specific attributes and values exist, AAA Server could add some new attribute, delete some existing attribute and modify value for some other existing attribute.

PoD and CoA

The AAA Server uses CoA messages to dynamically modify active subscriber sessions. A typical example, RADIUS attributes in CoA messages might instruct the NAS to create, modify, or terminate a subscriber service. CoA-Request packets contain information for dynamically changing session authorizations. RADIUS-initiated CoA messages use the following codes in request and response messages: CoA-Request (43), CoA-ACK (44), CoA-NAK (45).

In the same way, the AAA Server generates Disconnect Messages (PoD) to the network access gateway on reception of OCS order or based on different criteria: when the subscriber is removed from the subscriber profile database, when his status has changed, etc. These criteria are configurable using the policy engine supported by the AAA Server.

IP management

The AAA Server provides centralized management of IP addresses, eliminating the time and expense of assigning and managing IP address pools for each NAS (for instance).
This prevents the loss and duplication of IP addresses. IP Address pools can be created for individual NASs or groups of NASs (multiple IP Pools are managed in parallel). When a user connects to the NAS, they are often assigned an IP address for the session. A user can have a static IP address, or an IP address can be dynamically allocated by either the NAS or the AAA Server. IP address pools for each NAS can be defined centrally on the AAA Server.

Management Function

The AAA Server contains a complete management systemAll management functions are implemented by the service management software. The management function consists of the following parts:

  • Operator and log management
  • System management
  • User management

Operator and log management

An operator is a person who performs operations on the AAA Server. Operators have different operation rights. The AAA Server controls operation rights by level, role, and operator. The operators in the upper layer can create the operators in the lower layer.

All the operators’ operations to the system are recorded in the logs. The log information includes operator name, login time, IP address, operation task, task status, logout time, log level and so on. The AAA Server stores all the operator logs, the log is stored at least 3 months (configurable parameter). The log can be set into different levels.

System management

Through the management interface provided by the AAA Server, the operator can manage the system parameters. Such as: parameter setting management, domain management, template management, access policy, IP address management, proxy rule and copy rule management etc.

User management

If the AAA Server provides the authentication function, the user profiles will be stored in AAA’s database. Through the management interface provided by the AAA Server, the operator can manage user information.The user management includes:

  • Adding a user
  • Deleting a user
  • Querying user information
  • Changing user password or other attributes

The AAA Server supports to manage the user base on user group, if a user is a member of a user group. The AAA Server can authenticate and charge users from the same user group using the same authentication policy and charging policy.

O&M

The AAA Server supports the standard SNMP V2 protocol. Through this protocol, the AAA Server reports the information including the system alarm and performance information, which includes number of received authentication/accounting messages, number of sent authentication reject messages, and number of sent authentication success messages, etc.

Please refer to the following RFC:

    The hardware reliability of the AAA Server is ensured by:

    • Host reliability
    • Disk reliability
    • Power and network reliability
    • Data backup

    Host Reliability

    The AAA Server usually is deployed on two hosts in Active-Active or Active-Standby mode. Optionally the AAA Server could be deployed on RHEL HA Cluster.

    Disk Reliability

    Regarding disk reliability, the AAA Server ensures high reliability and availability of data by using internal disks in RAID 1+0 configuration. RAID 1+0 is the combination of RAID 0 and RAID 1. As a scheme that has taken both storage performance and data security into consideration, RAID 1+0 provides data security guarantee equivalent to that of RAID 1, and storage performance approximate to that of RAID 0. The replications is used to syncronize the data in the database on different nodes.Optionally the AAA Server could operate in centralized storage array mode.

    Power and Network Reliability

    All the power supplies and data networks of the AAA Seerver host are backed up to guarantee the normal operation of the system in case any fault occurs on the active node.

    Data Backup

    The AAA Server backups some important data, such as: configuration file, database data etc. The automatic script is running on the AAA and it will backup the data and store the data in fixed directory automatically by a schedule, the backup data will be compressed and ftp to the customer’s backup server.

Одним из основных компонентов сети является AAA-сервер. AAA-сервер обеспечивает аутентификацию, авторизацию и учёт, управление сессиями абонентов в режиме реального времени для обеспечения мобильности, роуминга, безопасности и контроля за используемыми услугами и сервисами. AAA-сервер поддерживает prepaid- и postpaid-схемы. В некоторых специализированных сценариях AAA-сервер выполняет функции proxy-сервера и предоставляет доступ к информации о сессиях абонента.

Основные особенности AAA-сервера:

  • Поддержка всех типов сетей: ШПД, WCDMA/GRPS, CDMA450/1X/2000/EV-DO, WiMAX, LTE. Способность AAA-сервера одновременно поддерживать различные сети и услуги позволяет операторам, имеющим лицензии на предоставление услуг в различных типах сетей, экономить инвестиции и эксплуатационные затраты. Операторы могут построить единую систему AAA для реализации аутентификации, авторизации и учета всех данных пользователей для фиксированных и мобильных сетей, обеспечив централизованное управление пользователями и их услугами.
  • Высокая производительность и надежность, предусмотрено резервирование основных компонент и узлов. Механизмы распределения и балансировки нагрузки позволяют устранить единую точку отказа. AAA-сервер поставляется с механизмами контроля трафика и защиты от перегрузок, что позволяет реализовать расширяемую конфигурацию для обслуживания трафика миллионов абонентов.
Поддерживаемые стандарты
Решение AAA-сервер разработано в соответствии со следующими стандартами:
  • IETF standards:
    • RADIUS — RFC2865
    • RADIUS Accounting — RFC2866
    • RADIUS Extensions – RFC2869
    • RADIUS Attributes Tunnelling Protocol Support – RFC 2868
    • RADIUS Accounting Modifications for Tunnel Protocol Support – RFC2867
    • RADIUS Authentication Server MIB — RFC2619, RFC2620
    • RADIUS Accounting Server MIB — RFC2621, RFC2622
    • RADIUS Dynamic Authorization Support – RFC3576
    • RADIUS EAP Support – RFC 3579
    • EAP-AKA – RFC4187
    • EAP-TLS — RFC 2716
    • EAP-TTLS
    • Microsoft Vendor Specific Radius Attributes – RFC 2548
    • HTTP Digest Authentication Support – RFC 2617
    • RADIUS Extension for Digest Authentication – RFC 5090
    • Diameter Base Protocol Support – RFC3588
    • Diameter EAP Extension Support – RFC4072
    • Diameter NASReq Extension Support – RFC4005
    • Diameter MIPv4 Extension Support – RFC4004
    • Diameter Credit-Control Application– RFC4006
  • TIA / EIA standards:
    • IS835 CDMA2000 extensions (Mobile IP)
    • IS878 CDMA2000 RAN 1xEV-DO A12 Support
  • 3GPP2
    • X.S0011-D v1.0 CDMA2000 Wireless IP Network Standard
    • X.S0028-100-0 Wireless Local Area Network Interworking
    • X.S.R0087-A v1.0 CDMA 2000 WLAN Interworking
  • 3GPP / ETSI
    • TS 29.061 GPRS – PLMN Inter-working
    • TS 23.234 WLAN Interworking – System Description

Функциональность AAA-сервера

Гибкая аутентификация

AAA-сервер поддерживает аутентификацию на основе одного или нескольких атрибутов (набор атрибутов настраивается), таких как IMSI, MSISDN, IMEI, NAI, Realm/Domain, имя пользователя и т. д.

Комбинации этих параметров настраиваются в Policy Engine, который определяет статические правила, применяемые при процедуре аутентификации.

AAA-сервер поддерживает несколько политик аутентификации, которые могут быть настроены в Policy Engine.

Упорядоченный список правил настраивается в Policy Engine. Каждое правило состоит из одного условия и одного действия.

  • Условие указывает атрибут и его значение, который должен присутствовать в запросах с типом Access или Accounting. Для максимальной гибкости могут быть использованы любые атрибуты из запроса.
  • Действие определяет, что AAA-сервер должен выполнить с запросом при выполнении условия. Действие также может ссылаться на другое правило, для возможности создания сложных правил аутентификации с вложенными условиями.
Методы аутентификации

AAA-сервер поддерживает следующие методы: CHAP, PAP, MSCHAPv1/v2, EAP (EAP-MD5), Microsoft PEAP, EAP-MSCHAP-v2 for PEAP, EAP-AKA, EAP-SIM, и EAP-TLS.

AAA-сервер поддерживает функцию «черный список». Если пользователь в ходе аутентификации вводит неправильные пароли, при достижении определенного количества неудачных попыток AAA-сервер может заблокировать пользователя. В течение определенного времени AAA-сервер будет отклонять аутентификацию пользователя даже в случае предоставления корректного пароля. Данная функция, допустимое количество попыток аутентификации и продолжительность блокировки являются полностью конфигурируемыми параметрами.

Функциональность «черный список» может быть конфигурируемой по APN, realm/domain, NAS и т. д.

Интеграция с IN- и Billing-системами (prepaid и postpaid)

AAA-сервер поддерживает следующие протоколы для реализации тарификации в режиме реального времени:

  • DIAMETER DCCA
  • SOAP (OSA/Parlay)

AAA-сервер поддерживает генерацию, доставку и хранение записей CDR для всех событий, которые необходимо протарифицировать.

Формат CDR и набор полей в записях может быть различным в зависимости от требований оператора.
Например: CSV, ASN.1, XML, etc.

AAA-сервер поддерживает следующие интерфейсы (Billing Collection Interfaces): FTP, SFTP, FTPS, ssh, XML over HTTP(S), 3GPP API Charging Subset.Дополнительные интерфейсы могут быть разработаны в соответствии с требованиями заказчика.

SPR

В состав AAA-сервера входит база данных, которая используется для следующих целей:

  • База данных профилей абонентов.
  • База данных по использованным услугам (счетчики трафика/услуг) абонентов.
  • База данных, содержащая активные сессии абонентов.

AAA-сервер предоставляет интерфейс провижионинга (SOAP) для BSS/OSS систем для возможности управления абонентскими профилями. Дополнительные интерфейсы могут быть настроены/разработаны в соответствии с требованиями заказчика. База данных, список параметров и их значений могут быть настроены в соответствии с требованиями заказчика. Сервер AAA может быть интегрирован с внешней базой данных по стандартному протоколу LDAP (v3).

База данных по использованному трафику наполняется согласно аккаунтинговым сообщениям пользовательских сессий, в том числе сессий, которые были проксированы на внешние сервера.

База данных, содержащая активные сессии абонентов. После того как пользователь устанавливает соединение, AAA-сервер сохраняет информацию об открытой сессии. Информация о сессии включает в себя MSISDN, IP-адрес, IMSI и множество других параметров. Внешние системы, например такие как Call-центр, могут запрашивать информацию о сессиях через HTTP-интерфейс. При этом поиск может осуществляться по MSISDN, IMSI, IMEI или другому ID.

Режим Proxy

AAA-сервер включает в себя высокопроизводительный Proxy Engine.Proxy Engine поддерживает балансировку запросов, механизмы fault detection и failover. Proxy Engine может использовать различные сервера для проксирования аутентификационных и аккаунтинговых сообщений.

Взаимодействие между RADIUS-серверами осуществляется в соответствии с RFC 2865. Для аутентификации и шифрования используется разделяемый ключ (shared secret).

Условия, при которых AAA-сервер проксирует ACCESS или ACCOUNTING сообщения на внешний сервер, задаются в правилах Policy Engine. Условия проксирования могут быть заданы на основании любых атрибутов, присутствующих в ACCESS или ACCOUNTING сообщении, таких как domain, NAS, APN, subscriber id и т.д.

Несколько внешних AAA-серверов могут быть объединены в одну группу в режиме failover или балансировки нагрузки. Режим failover обеспечивает высокую степень доступности процесса аутентификации благодаря использованию альтернативных серверов из группы, в случае, если основной сервер недоступен или отвечает с задержками. Если первый сервер группы не отвечает в установленное время, AAA-сервер перепосылает запросы на следующий сервер в группе. Если ответ не получен ни от одного сервера в группе, то согласно настроенным правилам, в ответ на запрос может быть отправлен отрицательный ответ (reject) либо положительный (accept) с локальной авторизацией пользователя.

Объединение внешних серверов в группы в режиме балансировки нагрузки (load-sharing) позволяет распределять запросы ACCESS и ACCOUNTING между несколькими серверами по циклическому (round-robin) алгоритму.

Перед отправкой запроса на внешний AAA-сервер, AAA-сервер может модифицировать любой RADIUS-атрибут в запросе. Например, если значения определенных атрибутов удовлетворяют заданному условию, то AAA-сервер может включить в запрос новый атрибут, удалить из запроса существующий атрибут или изменить значение существующего атрибута.

Пакеты PoD и CoA

AAA-сервер использует CoA сообщения для динамического изменения активной сессии пользователя. RADIUS атрибуты в CoA могут содержать инструкции для NAS создать, изменить или завершить сервис абонента. CoA сообщения содержат информацию для динамической реавторизации сессии абонента.

Для CoA сообщений используются следующие коды команд: CoA-Request (43), CoA-ACK (44), CoA-NAK (45).

Аналогичным образом AAA-сервер отправляет PoD сообщения на NAS по факту получения от OCS сообщений об удалении абонента, изменении статуса абонента и т. д. Правила формирования и отправки PoD и CoA сообщений настраиваются в Policy Engine.

Управление IP-адресами

AAA-сервер предоставляет механизм централизованного управления IP-адресами. Централизованный механизм упрощает процедуры управления пулами IP-адресов, например, исключая необходимость конфигурирования пулов адресов на каждом NAS. Пулы IP-адресов могут быть созданы для каждого отдельного NAS или для группы NAS. Когда абонент устанавливает соединение, для его сессии назначается IP-адрес. Абонент может иметь статический IP-адрес, либо IP-адрес может назначаться из пула адресов AAA-сервером или NAS. Пулы IP адресов могут быть определены в AAA-сервере для каждого NAS.

Система управления AAA-сервера

В состав AAA-сервера входит подсистема управления, выполняющая следующие функции:

  • Управление пользователями системы
  • Управление системными параметрами
  • Управление абонентскими профилями

Управление пользователями системы

Пользователи системы – внутренние пользователи, выполняющие операции в Системе AAA Сервер. Пользователи Системы могут иметь различные права и роли (Администратор, Оператор и т.д.).

Все действия пользователей в Системе логгируются. Информация в лог-файле включает такие параметры как имя пользователя, время соединения, IP адрес, выполненные операции, время отсоединения и т.д. AAA Сервер хранит лог-файлы как минимум 3 месяца (настраиваемый параметр). Могут быть заданы различные уровни логгирования.

Управление системными параметрами

Через графический интерфейс пользователя, операторы Системы могут управлять параметрами Системы, такими как: внутренние параметры Системы, шаблоны (преднастроенные политики и правила), политики аутентификации и авторизации, управление пулами IP адресов, управление режимом Proxy и т.д.

Управление абонентскими профилями

Профили абонентов хранятся во внутренней базе данных AAA Сервера. Через пользовательский интерфейс операторы могут управлять абонентскими профилями и выполнять следующие действия:

  • Создание абонента
  • Удаление абонента
  • Просмотр информации об абоненте
  • Смена пароля абонента и изменение прочих атрибутов

AAA Сервер поддерживает групповое управление абонентами. Если абонент включен в группу, то к нему будут применяться политики аутентификации и авторизации, назначенные на группу.

O&M

AAA Сервер поддерживает протокол SNMP V2. Через SNMP-трапы AAA Сервер может отправлять сообщения, включающие в себя информацию об авариях/предупреждениях, а также статистическую информацию, например, количество полученных access и accounting сообщений в единицу времени, количество отправленных access accept и reject сообщений, и т.д.

Подробная информация содержится в следующих спецификациях:

  • RFC 1901:Introduction to Community-based SNMPv2
  • RFC 1902:Structure of Management Information for Version 2 of the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMPV2)
  • RFC 1905:Protocol Operations for Version 2 of the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMPV2)
  • RFC 2618: RADIUS Authentication Client MIB
  • RFC 2619: RADIUS Authentication Server MIB
  • RFC 2620: RADIUS Accounting Client MIB
  • RFC 2621: RADIUS Accounting Server MIB
Надежность Решения

Высокая надежность компонент Решения, необходимая для обеспечения доступности систем уровня Mission Critical реализуется с помощью резервирования на следующих уровнях:

  • Резервирование серверов Системы
  • Резервирование дисковой подсистемы
  • Резервирование системы питания
  • Резервирование сетевых интерфейсов
  • Резервное копирование данных

Резервирование серверов Системы

AAA Сервер устанавливается как минимум на двух серверах в режиме Active-Active или Active-Standby. Опционально AAA Сервер может быть развернут в кластерной конфигурации с использованием RHEL HA Cluster.

Резервирование дисковой подсистемы

Для обеспечения высокой надежности и доступности данных в Решении используются внутренние диски в конфигурации RAID 1+0. RAID 1+0 – это комбинация RAID 0 и RAID 1. Данная конфигурация обеспечивает надежность хранения данных и высокую производительность одновременно. Процессы репликации используются для синхронизации данных на различных серверах. Опционально AAA Сервер может быть развернут на централизованном дисковом хранилище.

Резервирование системы питания и сетевых интерфейсов

Блоки питания и сетевые карты на серверах Решения резервируются, чтобы гарантировать доступность Решения при сбоях на серверах.

Резервное копирование данных

AAA Сервер выполняет резервное копирование необходимых данных, таких как файлы конфигураций, данных из БД и т.д. Автоматический скрипт, исполняемый на серверах AAA, копирует требуемые данные, выполняет их архивирование и отправку на сервера резервного копирования Заказчика.